2013 Rimington Award Winners

Rimington Award Winners for the Nation’s Top Center for FCS, DII, DIII and NAIA Announced.
Grand Valley State’s Matt Armstrong Racks Up Another Award Cap Off College Career

rtlogo.jpgDecember 10, 2013 – Matt Armstrong of Grand Valley State headlines the 2013 Rimington Trophy winners for the FCS, DII, DIII and NAIA divisions.

The award winners are selected by Jason Dannelly, founder of the Victory Sports Network and longtime writer of football in non-FBS divisions as part of the continued tradition of one of College Football’s most prestigious awards.

2013-DII-ArmstrongArmstrong, a senior from Lansing, Mich., is the DII division winner after being named the 2013 GLIAC Offensive Lineman of the Year as well as a finalist for the Gene Upshaw Award for the best linemen in NCAA DII. Armstrong has been a four-time All-GLIAC honoree including a three-time first team selection.

Additionally, Armstrong has shown great versatility starting at least one game at every spot on the offensive line in his career as well as being a two sport athlete throwing the shot put.

2013-NAIA-OsbornMarc Osborn of Grand View University is the recipient of the Rimington Trophy for the NAIA Division. Osborn, a senior from Council Bluffs, Iowa, was a two time first team all-conference selection in the Mid-States Football Association.

He was also key contributor to the Vikings success over the last four years which has led Grand View to their first ever NAIA National Championship game.

2013-FCS-SingletonJared Singleton of Wofford University is the Rimington Award winner for the FCS Division. Singleton, a senior from Lugoff, S.C., is a three-time All-Southern Conference honoree and started 27 consecutive games at center over the past three seasons and a total of 39 starts in his four-year career with the Terriers.

2013-DIII-CranstonBen Cranston of Johns Hopkins University is the recipient of the Rimington Award for the NCAA DIII level. Cranston, a senior from Parkton, Md., has been the starting center for the Blue Jays the last two seasons and was name first team All-Centennial Conference this year, first team All South Region All-American for DIII and was named to the 2013 CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-District II Team.

The 2013 Rimington Trophy presentation banquet will be held January 11, 2014, at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb. The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in all divisions of College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over 3 million dollars. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit http://www.rimingtontrophy.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s