2009 Rimington Award Winners

rtlogo.jpgDecember 2009 –NEW YORK – The 2009 winners of the Rimington Award have been announced honoring the top centers in the FCS, DII, DIII and NAIA levels.

The award has been handed out every year since 2003 as part of the honoring of the top center in the country with the Rimington Trophy. Jeff Hynes of Lindenwood University headlines the 2009 award winners by bringing home the Rimington Award in back-to-back seasons.

2009-FCS-SteichenFCS: Austin Steichen
Northern Iowa University

Austin Steichen of Northern Iowa headlines the list of Rimington Award winners for 2009.

Steichen was the winner of the FCS Rimington Award.  Steichen (Remsen, Iowa/St. Mary’s HS) earned second-team All-America status, while Ruffin (Burnsville, Minn./Burnsville HS) earned third-team All-America accolades.

2009-DII-HiettDII: Jack Hiett
University of Nebraska-Kearney

Nebraska-Kearney senior Jack Hiett has been tabbed the 2009 winner of the NCAA Division II Dave Rimington Award as the nation’s top center. Hiett (Arvada, Colo./Arvada West H.S.) started all 44 games in his Loper career and was selected to all five Division II All-American teams this season.

He was a 1st-team pick by the Football Gazette and AFCA (American Football Coaches Association) and made the 2nd-team on Daktronics (chosen by sports information directors), D2football.com and the A.P’s Little All-America squad. The 6-1, 255 lbs. Hiett also was a national finalist for the 2009 Gene Upshaw Division II Linemen of the Year Award.
2009-DIII-HollinDIII: Dillon Hollin
Wittenberg University

Dillon Hollin of Wittenberg University was the winner of the DIII Rimington Award. Hollin, from Prospect, Ky., was a four year letter winner for Wittenberg. Hollin made 12 starts at center, missing one game due to injury midway through what turned out to be a 12-1 campaign in 2009.

He anchored an offensive line that cleared the way for an offense that averaged 36.7 points and 442.4 yards per game in 2009, both of which ranked among the best in not only the NCAC but all of NCAA Division III. After two second-team All-NCAC honors, Hollin moved up to first team as a senior. He went on to add first-team All-Great Lakes Region and first-team All-America honors from d3football.com.

2009-NAIA-HynesNAIA: Jeff Hynes
Lindenwood University

Jeff Hynes of Lindenwood University is the winner of the Rimington Award for the NAIA level. This marks the second year in a row Hynes has won the award.

Hynes was twice named first-team All-American and was a three-time first-team All-HAAC selection. He helped to anchor an offensive line that has only gave up 17 sacks in two years.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s