2007 Rimington Award Winners

rtlogo.jpgDecember 2007 -NEW YORK – The 2007 winners of the Rimington Award have been announced honoring the top centers in the FCS, DII, DIII and NAIA levels.

The award has been handed out every year since 2003 as part of the honoring of the top center in the country with the Rimington Trophy. This year’s winners are highlighted by Brennen Carvalho of Portland State University who was a three-time All-Big Sky Conference selection.

2007-FCS-CarvalhoNCAA Div. I (FCS)
Brennen Carvalho
Portland State University
6’1” 310 lbs.

A three-time All-Big Sky Conference selection, Carvalho leaves Portland State as quite possibly their finest offensive lineman ever. Much to the surprise of many, Carvalho earned the starting job during his freshman year and never relinquished it. In all, he started 39 games for the Vikings and was named a 1st Team All-American in his junior and senior years. After the conclusion of his senior season, Carvalho competed in the 2008 Hula Bowl.

2007-DII-PopeNCAA Div. II
Ryan Pope
Shepherd University
6’4” 329 lbs.

Pope’s leadership on the offensive line had much to do with his team’s efficiency in the running game. Because of Pope, Shepherd University was able to rack up an average of 222.8 yards per game. Pope was named the starter during the 2004 season and finished his career with 46 games under his belt, but not before leading the Rams to their fourth straight WVIAC title and third consecutive Division II postseason appearance. Pope was tabbed for First Team All-WVIAC honors after the 2006 and 2007 seasons.

2007-DIII-AllenNCAA Div. III
Brent Allen
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
5’11” 256 lbs.

A three-year starter for the Warhawks, Allen’s offensive line was a major piece of the team’s 2007 championship run. Since 2004, Allen’s line has been in the top tier in rushing, passing, total offense and points scored. Allen was tabbed as All-WIAC First Team in 2006 and 2007. He was also named a Div. III Second Team All-American during his final season. Allen and the Warhawks led the WIAC in scoring and sacks allowed in 2006 and 2007. They captured the 2007 NCAA Div. III championship with a win over Mount Union, 31-21.

Truman Ashby
Benedictine College
6’3” 288 lbs.

Ashby was a four-year starter for the Ravens and three times was named an NAIA All-American. Prior to the 2007 season, Ashby was ranked as one of the top six offensive players by Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette. He finished his career with Benedictine as an All-American for the second straight year. The NAIA and the American Football Coaches Association named Ashby to the spot.

About the Rimington Award
Each year since 2003, the Rimington Award is presented to the premier centers in each of the following divisions: Division I-AA (FCS), Division II, Division III, and NAIA. The recipients of the Rimington Award are chosen by Don Hansen. Don is recognized as the foremost expert on Small College Football across the United States. The term “Small College Football” refers to the collegiate football divisions NCAA I-AA (FCS) , NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, and NAIA; or in other words all college football divisions with the exception of Division I-A (FBS).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s