2004 Rimington Award Winners

rtlogo.jpgDecember 2004 -NEW YORK – The 2004 winners of the Rimington Award have been announced honoring the top centers in the FCS, DII, DIII and NAIA levels.

This marks the second year of the award as part of the honoring of the top center in the country with the Rimington Trophy.


DII: Kevin Burton
Southeastern Oklahoma State

Kevin Burton of Southeastern Oklahoma State is the winner of the Rimington Award for the DII level of college football. Burton was an all-conference guard last year and was switched to center during the preseason when center Cliff Eddings was sidelined with a knee injury. Southeastern coach Keith Baxter said Burton sets the tone of the offensive line which was evident as he garnered all-conference honors in 2004.

Burton was also a Football Gazette All-America and a D2Football.com All-Region selection.


DIII: Matthew Bush
Mary Hardin – Baylor

Matthew Bush of Mary Hardin – Baylor is the winner of the NCAA DIII Rimington Award. As a pre-med student with a major in psychology, Bush excelled in his studies as well as in football. This year he became the first player in the American Southwest. Conference to be selected as an Academic All-American by ESPN The Magazine.

Bush was also named a first team All-American by the Football Gazette and DIIIFootball.com as well as a third team Little All-American by the Associated Press.


FCS: Rob Hunt
North Dakota State University

Rob Hunt is the winner of the Rimington Award for the FCS level of college football. Hunt was selected the 2004 Great West Football Conference Offensive Lineman of the Year by media, and named to the 2004 All-Great West Football Conference first team by coaches and media. Hunt was credited with a team-high 72 “pancake blocks” as a senior. The Bison rushed for 192.4 yards per game last season — an increase of 33 yards per game over 2003, and averaged 378 yards of total offense.

Hunt completed the 2004 season with a string of 42 consecutive starts, despite wearing a cast on his snapping hand in 2003, and became the NDSU player since All-American center Mike Favor (1985-88) to start each game in their career. Hunt did not allow a sack and only one quarterback hit over the past two seasons.


NAIA: Adam Sherman
University of Saint Francis (Ind.)

Adam Sherman is the winner of the NAIA level Rimington Award. Sherman was a four-year starter at the University of Saint Francis and was a two-time NAIA All-American. Additionally he was a three-time MSFA All-Mideast pick.

Sherman and the Cougars finished Runner-Up this season in the NAIA, losing in the championship game to Carroll College.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s